Washington, D.C. — July 20, 2021 — Today, President Joe Biden announced his nomination of Jonathan Kanter to serve as Assistant Attorney General for the United States Department of Justice Antitrust Division. The MIC Coalition, whose members provide music over the nation’s airwaves, the internet and in stores, hotels, restaurants, bars, concert venues and taverns across the country released the following statement:

The MIC Coalition congratulates Jonathan Kanter on his nomination to serve as the Department of Justice’s next Assistant Attorney General for Antitrust.

For nearly a decade, the Coalition and its members have worked tirelessly with two separate Administrations’ Departments of Justice, to promote music marketplace competition and efficiency by preserving the ASCAP and BMI consent decrees that remain vital to millions of American businesses and their consumers.

We look forward to working closely with Kanter, the entire Department of Justice as well as policymakers on Capitol Hill to further improve transparency and strengthen the music licensing ecosystem to ensure a licensing regime that benefits all affected stakeholders.


About MIC Coalition
MIC (pronounced “Mike”, as in “Microphone”) Coalition is a group of associations whose members provide music in retail establishments, hotels, restaurants, bars, wineries and taverns throughout the country, as well as over the nation’s airwaves and the internet. The Coalition is committed to a rational, sustainable and transparent system that will drive the future of music and ensure that consumers have continued access to music across a variety of platforms, venues and services.

Coalition Members include: American Beverage Licensees, American Hotel & Lodging Association, Brewers Association, Computer & Communications Industry Association, Consumer Technology Association, Digital Media Association, Exhibitions & Conferences Alliance, International Association of Exhibitions and Events (IAEE), International Association of Venue Managers, Meeting Professionals International (MPI), National Association of Broadcasters, National Association of Theatre Owners, National Restaurant Association, The National Religious Broadcasters Music License Committee, National Retail Federation, Radio Music License Committee, Society of Independent Show Organizers (SISO) and WineAmerica.